Douglas Lee

Title: Assistant Chief Deputy
Phone: 940-349-1620
Contact Assistant Chief Deputy Lee
Captain Douglas Lee

Assistant Chief Deputy Douglas Lee supervises the Denton County Sheriff’s Office Administrative & Support Services Bureau which is comprised of the Community and Media Relations Division, the Justice Management Division, the Support Services Division, the Mental Health/Crisis Intervention Team and the Transport and Extradition Units.

Assistant Chief Lee began his Law Enforcement career in 1993 as a Detention Officer at the Denton County Sheriff’s Office.  After promoting into the Patrol Division in 1994, Assistant Chief Lee progressed through the ranks as a Patrol Corporal, a Patrol Sergeant, a Traffic Sergeant and became the Captain of the Patrol Division on January 1, 2013.  During his tenure at the Denton County Sheriff’s Office, Assistant Chief Lee has been a Field Training Officer, a Marine Safety Enforcement Officer, a License and Weight Enforcement Supervisor, a SWAT Team Operator and the SWAT Team Commander.  In 2019, Assistant Chief Lee transferred from Captain of the Patrol Division to Captain of the newly created Justice Management Division comprised of the Bailiff Unit, the Mental Health/Crisis Intervention Team and the Protective Detail Unit.  On January 1, 2021, Assistant Chief Lee was promoted to Assistant Chief Deputy supervising the Administrative & Support Services Bureau.

Assistant Chief Lee is a graduate of Texas A&M University where he earned Bachelor of Science degrees in Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Systems Management.   Assistant Chief Lee holds a Master Jailers License and a Master Peace Officers License and currently represents the Sheriff’s Office on numerous boards and committees including the Heroes of Denton County Executive Board, the United Way of Denton County Behavioral Health Leadership Team and the Denton County MHMR Center Board of Trustees.

Assistant Chief Lee has been married to Rebekah for 28 years and they are the proud parents of twin daughters, Harper and Hannah.


Return to Staff Directory