Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Original tax statements are sent to all taxpayers. A duplicate statement will be mailed to your mortgage company if requested by them. If your mortgage company did not request the statement, write your loan number on the statement and send it immediately to the mortgage company.
Show All Answers
Tax bills for each year are mailed in October. Taxes are due upon receipt of the statement and are delinquent if not paid on or before January 31st of the year following the year in which the tax was imposed.
If you mail payment for your taxes, the envelope must be postmarked by the U.S. Post Office no later than January 31st.
Example: 2017 Tax Bills are due no later than January 31, 2018. A payment with a U.S. Post Office postmark dated January 31, 2018 or earlier will be considered timely paid regardless of the date the mail was received.
Online payment services experience extremely high volumes January 31st. If you use online services to pay property taxes, please note tax payments made by 11:59 pm (midnight) central standard time on January 31st will be considered as timely payments.
If you do not receive a bill, please contact the Property Tax office or access our website for a copy of your bill.
Failure to receive a tax bill does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty, or interest, the due date, the existence of a tax lien, or any procedure instituted to collect a tax (section 31.01 (g), Texas Property Tax Code).
Due to the high volume of property tax mail-in payments, please allow a minimum of 7 to 10 business days for processing.
If taxes are not paid by January 31st, penalties and interest will accrue are follows:
Penalty reaches a 12% maximum and interest will increase 1% each month thereafter.
Personal property and mobile home accounts not paid in full by March 31st of the year in which they become delinquent will be referred to the delinquent tax attorney for enforced collection and will incur an additional penalty equal to 15% to 20% of the total taxes, penalties, and interest due.
All real property accounts not paid in full by June 30th of the year in which they become delinquent will be referred to the delinquent tax attorney for enforced collection and will incur an additional penalty equal to 15% to 20% of the total taxes, penalties, and interest due.
State law automatically places a tax lien on the property on January 1 of each year to ensure that taxes are paid. The person who owns or acquires property on or after January 1 of the tax year is personally liable for the tax. A person is not relieved of the obligation because he no longer owns the property. (Section 32.07, Texas Property Tax Code).
We accept cash in person and checks, cashier’s checks, or money orders in person or by mail. Credit card payments can be made in our office with an additional convenience fee.
Payments may also be made online. Payments made by eCheck do not have an additional convenience fee. Payments made by credit, debit or eCheck are posted "pending" until funding occurs. It is important when paying by eCheck that the bank routing and account number are accurately entered for proper posting. Please allow a minimum of 7 to 10 business days for processing.
We also accept wire transfer and Automated Clearing House (ACH) payments. Please contact the Property Tax office for details.
Partial payments are accepted; however, any remaining amount not paid by January 31st will begin to accrue penalty and interest. Should you wish to make partial payments beginning in October when you receive your statement, please write your property account number on your check with the words "Partial payment" in remarks.
Only taxpayers with an over-65 or Disabled Person Exemption may pay current taxes on their homestead residence in four installments without penalty or interest; however, the taxpayer must request the quarterly payments in writing and must pay at least:
If an installment is missed, the 6% penalty is imposed and interest begins to accrue.
The Tax Assessor-Collector is restricted from waiving or deferring penalty and interest on a delinquent property tax
Penalty and interest fees resulting from failure to timely pay a property tax are statutory.
Only the governing body for the taxing unit(s) that imposes a tax on a property may authorize the waiver of a penalty and interest under specific criteria.
Failure to send or receive the tax bill does not affect the validity of the:
(section 31.01(g), Texas Property Tax Code).
Penalty and Interest may only be waived on a delinquent tax under specific circumstances. The Texas Property Tax Code is very strict pertaining to the waiver of penalty and interest. (section 33.011, Texas Property Tax Code).
Payment must be made; including penalty and interest, within 21 days from the date the taxpayer knew or should have known taxes are due. (section 31.011 (d)(g), Texas Property Tax Code).
Exemptions reduce the taxable value of your property and lower the tax amount billed. Common exemptions are:
To file for an exemption, contact the appraisal district in your county.
Contact the appraisal district in your county.