News Flash

County News

Posted on: April 28, 2021

Denton County Earns Excellence in Safety Award from TAC Risk Management Pool

Denton County receives Safety Award for 2021 from Texas Association of Counties.

Denton County has earned a 2020 Excellence in Safety Award from the Texas Association of Counties Risk Management Pool for its record of excellence in involvement and commitment to safety in the workplace, as well as for controlling workers’ compensation claims. 

Denton County has earned the Excellence in Safety Award from the Texas Association of Counties Risk Management Pool every year since 2018. The county also earned the Gold Star Safety Award every year from 2004 to 2017. 

“We are thankful to the Texas Association of Counties for this recognition of our efforts to create a safe work environment for our employees as well as ensure taxpayer dollars are used wisely and efficiently,” said Denton County Judge Andy Eads. 

To qualify for the award, the county must participate in TAC Risk Management Pool’s Workers’ Compensation Program, have a safety program or accident prevention plan and have an active safety committee.

Through its commitment to safe practices among county employees, Denton County works to reduce employee injuries and obtains substantial savings for taxpayers by minimizing workers’ compensation costs. 

The county is one of 11 TAC Risk Management Pool members statewide who have earned this award. Less than 4 percent of the 412 members earn the Excellence Award while less than 10 percent receive the regular safety award. 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News

Drawing of military person guarding tomb of the unknown soldier as invite to ceremony.

Veterans Day Service on Denton Square

Posted on: November 8, 2021
Denton County Judge Andy Eads

Let 2021 be the year we reunite

Posted on: January 1, 2021