Title IV-D - Child Support Court

This Court hears all Title IV-D child support cases within the following counties: Tarrant, Denton, Johnson, Hood, Erath, and Somervell. Title IV-D cases are those cases in which the Texas Attorney General (OAG) has provided services under Part D, Title IV, of the Federal Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §651 et seq, including services relating to:

  • Determination of parentage 
  • Establishment, modification, or enforcement of child support or medical support obligation
  • The location of an absent parent

Creation of Child Support Courts

The child support courts were created in response to the federal requirement that states create expedited administrative or judicial processes to resolve child support cases. The IV-D Associate Judge is appointed by the Presiding Judge David Evans of the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region. Judge Cherami Jenkins is assigned to hear cases for Denton County.

Serviced Counties

  • Denton
  • Erath
  • Hood
  • Johnson
  • Somervell
  • Tarrant

Beginning January 15, 2019, the Court Coordinator will no longer office in the Denton County Courts Building.

Attorney General’s Office Information

Please contact the Office of the Attorney General at 800-252-8014 if you need to speak to someone in regards to your case or an upcoming hearing. The call center will make a note in their system that you called. The local storefront office for the Attorney General is located at:
1808 Cornell Lane
Denton, TX 76201