Historical Markers

Denton County Historical MarkersDenton County has a rich historical heritage preserved on national, state and county historical markers found in cities and towns, cemeteries and early communities, and along highways and country roads. Inscriptions are written based on historical narratives and documentation found in records of the Denton County Historical Commission or the Texas Historical Commission’s archives.

The historical markers tell the story of the early pioneers and settlers in Denton County and cover subjects on a wide range of topics that include: 

  • Archeology
  • Businesses
  • Cemeteries
  • Churches
  • Communities and Cities
  • Events
  • Historic Individuals
  • Land Grants
  • Organizations
  • Ranches
  • Schools

Many structures, houses and buildings throughout the county are Recorded Texas Historic Landmarks. Most of the markers are Texas Historical Commission markers; the Denton County Historical Commission marker program began in 2004.

Early Markers

The earliest markers in the county are the Centennial Markers erected by the state in 1936 to commemorate the 100th birthday of Texas’ independence from Mexico. A number of properties are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Each individual marker is grouped within one of fourteen geographical areas. The marker site lists: 

  • Marker Location
  • Marker Text
  • Photos
  • Type of Marker
  • Year Erected

Each area is identified by the names of cities, towns and communities with one or more historical markers. Three of the fourteen marker areas begin in the center section of Denton, the county seat Denton/Downtown, Courthouse Square Historic District and Area; Denton/University of North Texas, Oak-Hickory Historic District and Area; and Denton/ Texas Woman’s University and Area.

John B. Denton Texas Centennial Marker

The John B. Denton Texas Centennial marker, located on the historic Courthouse-on-the-Square, is the first marker listed. Established by the Texas Legislature in 1846, Denton County was named for John B. Denton, pioneer preacher and lawyer, killed in the Village Creek Indian fight May 24, 1841.

Additional Sections

Divided into four additional sections the remaining marker areas encircle the center of the county: northeast, southeast, southwest and northwest. For a visual image visit the Geographical County Map page for information on the county’s sections and areas.

Historical Markers Key

  • DCHC: Denton County Historical Commission
  • HTC: Historic Texas Cemetery
  • NRHP: National Register of Historic Places
  • RTHL: Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
  • THC: Texas Historical Commission