Commissioner Precinct 4

Commissioner Precinct 4 MapDuties

Among other responsibilities, the Commissioners Court:

  • Sets the yearly property tax rate and approves the budget and employment level for the county
  • Sets commissioners and justice of the peace precinct boundaries
  • Calls, conducts and certifies elections, including bond elections
  • Sets employment and benefit policy
  • Establishes long-range thoroughfare, open space, land use, financial and law enforcement/jail needs plans
  • Acquires property for rights-of-way or other uses determined to be in the public’s best interest
  • Reviews and approve subdivision platting and wastewater treatment for rural areas
  • Provides rural ambulance services and subsidizes rural fire protection
  • Oversees the construction, maintenance and improvement of county roads and bridges
  • Appoints non-elected department heads and standing committees
  • Supervises and controls the county courthouse, county buildings and facilities
  • Adopts a county budget
  • Determines county tax rates
  • Fills vacancies in elective and appointive positions
  • Has exclusive authority to authorize contracts in the name of the county


Precinct 4 represents the cities of:

  • Argyle
  • Bartonville
  • Copper Canyon
  • Corral City
  • Denton
  • Dish
  • Double Oak
  • Flower Mound
  • Fort Worth
  • Haslet
  • Justin
  • Krum
  • New Fairview
  • Northlake
  • Ponder
  • Roanoke
  • Southlake
  • Trophy Club
  • Westlake