NOTICE - REMINDER OF 12-31-2021 CLOSURE AND NEW FILING FEES
Denton County will be closed on December 31, 2021, in observance of the New Year’s Holiday. Any new suits or actions that include or require a filing fee that are submitted/filed to this office on December 31, 2021 will receive a file date of January 3, 2022 and the filing will be subject to the new Civil/Family Filing Fees that go into effect on January 1, 2022. In accordance with Texas Rules of Civil Procedure 21(f)(5)(A), if a document is electrically filed/ transmitted to the electronic filing service provider on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, it is deemed filed on the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
NOTICE - CIVIL/FAMILY AND OTHER FILING FEES TO INCREASE EFFECTIVE 1-1-2022
Per Senate Bill 41 of the 87th State of Texas Legislative session, the filings fees associated with civil and family cases (both new suits and subsequent actions) received a fee increase. Additionally, several other fees associated with documents and services provided by this office were updated and increased. Please see the Filing Fee Schedule effective 1-1-2022.
NOTICE - PROVE-UPS ONLY BY ELECTRONIC SUBMISSION
Per the Fifth Amended Denton County District Courts Temporary Guidelines Regarding Health and Safety Concerns issued on May 29, 2020 all uncontested prove-ups must be submitted electronically through this office. There will be no in-person prove-up hearings until further notice. Please see notice issued by District Court Administration – Denton County District Court Prove-Up Schedule.
For electronic filing registration, E-filing guides and other helpful information please go to the E-Filing Website.
Effective immediately, this office will no longer certify a copy of any document that did not originate from this office.
If you would like a certified copy of any record held on file by this office, you will need to complete a Record Request Form.
Record Request Forms can be submitted to this office by mail to P.O. Box 2146, Denton, Texas 76202, by fax to (940) 349-5754 or by email at email@example.com.
No record requests or research regarding record requests will be performed without a completed Record Request Form.
Certified Copies are $1.00 per page. Payment can be made by cash, money order, or credit card (American Express, MasterCard, Visa and Discover).Credit card payments are subject to a 2.75% transaction fee of the total amount charged ($1.00 minimum transaction). Personal checks are not accepted.
Documents sealed by order or statute will not be provided unless permitted by law.
REQUEST COPIES OF DOCUMENTS
Request copies of documents Adobe Acrobat PDF from a case on file with this office. Record Request Forms (PDF) can be submitted to this office in-person at 1450 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas, by mail to P.O. Box 2146, Denton, Texas 76202, by fax to (940) 349-5754 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. No record requests or research regarding record requests will be performed without a completed Record Request Form.
NOTICE - DISTRICT CLERK DESIGNATED AS CLERK TO MAGISTRATE COURT
Effective January 1, 2020, per standing order (PDF), the District Clerks office has been designated as the assigned clerk to the Magistrate Court for Denton County. Documents on an unfiled charge must be filed and will be maintained through the Denton County District Clerk. Documents filed prior to January 1, 2020, will remain in the district or county clerk’s offices they were originally filed in.